We Trust in the Name of the LORD Our God

Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.” – Psalm 20.7

I came across this verse recently in my quiet time and was challenged anew, especially in light of our little girl, Tikvah’s, diagnosis (“transposition of the great arteries”). See, it has been increasingly tempting for me to rest my hope in things other than the Lord. For example, the following is a list of things that I have been finding my hope wandering to lately:

  • Success rate of the surgical procedure (“arterial switch”) that Tikvah will require after birth (95%-98% successful).
  • Skill and experience of the surgeons, who will be operating on Tikvah’s heart (world-class physicians specialized in pediatric cardiology).
  • Advanced technology and resources that have been made available to us in treating Tikvah (Childen’s Hospital of Los Angeles).
  • Statistics of other children who have undergone the same procedure (overall, positive).

As much as I want to be encouraged by these things and as blessed as we are to be in a position to benefit from these things, I have to keep bringing my mind back to all that I know is true. I have to constantly remind myself that God is still God. He could choose to use these things to bring about Tikvah’s overall healing and health, or He could choose to cause any one of these things to falter. Either way, blessed be the name of the LORD. He is to be the supreme object of my hope. His name (i.e. unfailing character) and Word is to be the anchor that holds me during this storm … not the things of this world (as encouraging and inviting as they might be).

The Lord has been so faithful to teach me new truths about Himself in this trial, for which I am so grateful to be learning. He has been challenging and blessing me in ways that I did not anticipate. But, through it all thus far, He has been drawing me ever so close to Himself. For that sweet communion with my LORD, I would not change a thing about our present circumstance. He has sovereignly orchestrated this trial and I pray that I will continue to “trust in the name of the LORD,” despite how alluring other things might appear to be.

About Elizabeth

I am a sinner, saved by grace striving to increase in the knowledge of my Savior and His precious Word each day. The reader should know that there are a few presuppositions with which I approach this blog: 1) I believe in the biblical gospel, which basically purports that all mankind is born under the curse of sin (due to the sin of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden). Therefore, man is separated from God and can have no relationship with God because He is perfectly holy, not even able to look upon sin. Unfortunately, God is also perfectly just and must not only separate Himself from sin, but must also punish it. In order to reconcile man to Himself, God, the Father, sent God, the Son, down to earth to live as a man and take our sins upon Himself on the cross. While on the cross, God, the Son, bore the full weight of the wrath of God, the Father, against our sins in order that we who believe in Him might be set free from the curse of our sin. God, the Son, Jesus Christ, died as a propitiation for our sin in order to appease God, the Father's, holy and just character, redeem us from sin, and reconcile those who believe in this gospel to God, the Father. 2) I am primarily writing to those who already believe in this biblical gospel. In other words, this blog is not focused on evangelizing the lost, but edifying believers. 3) I believe that the Christian Bible is the very word of God. Therefore, it is completely inerrant, infallible, sufficient, and authoritative in the life of a believer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Trust in the Name of the LORD Our God

  1. Dianne says:

    thank you for this timely reminder that our hope is in God…and He is our ONLY hope. Tikvah’s name is a reminder itself or how our hope is not to be in doctors, hospitals, technology, but in God alone. And He will receive all the glory.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Amen … it is a reminder that I have to keep giving MYSELF, as my idolatrous heart is prone to cling to anything other than the one true God. But, as you said, He is the only One in whom I should be trusting because He is the only One worthy to receive all the glory!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

