The Wilderness

And the LORD said to Moses, ‘Behold, you are about to lie down with your fathers. Then this people will rise and whore after the foreign gods among them in the land that they are entering, and they will forsake me and break my covenant that I have made with them. Then my anger will be kindled against them in that day, and I will forsake them and hide my face from them, and they will be devoured. And many evils and troubles will come upon them, so that they will say in that day, ‘Have not these evils come upon us because our God is not among us?’ And I will surely hide my face in that day because of all the evil that they have done, because they have turned to other gods… for I know what they are inclined to do even today, before I have brought them into the land that I swore to give.‘” (Deuteronomy 31.16-18, 21b)

Dear God,

You know all things. You have fashioned me and knew me even from my mother’s womb. You know my weaknesses and inclinations to wander from You. You know the things of this world that tempt me to forsake You. Please guard me and keep me. Please lead me not into temptation to forget or forsake You.

Please do not hide your face from me, or I would perish. Even if it means keeping me in the desert places (i.e. hardships and trials in this life) and never allowing me to enter into a “land flowing with milk and honey” (i.e. abundant blessings in this life), as long as I have You then I have all that I need. You are my portion and my inheritance. Please do not put me in a position to tempt my heart to wander from You or to worship “other gods.” Keep me wholly true to You!

Amen.

About Elizabeth

I am a sinner, saved by grace striving to increase in the knowledge of my Savior and His precious Word each day. The reader should know that there are a few presuppositions with which I approach this blog: 1) I believe in the biblical gospel, which basically purports that all mankind is born under the curse of sin (due to the sin of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden). Therefore, man is separated from God and can have no relationship with God because He is perfectly holy, not even able to look upon sin. Unfortunately, God is also perfectly just and must not only separate Himself from sin, but must also punish it. In order to reconcile man to Himself, God, the Father, sent God, the Son, down to earth to live as a man and take our sins upon Himself on the cross. While on the cross, God, the Son, bore the full weight of the wrath of God, the Father, against our sins in order that we who believe in Him might be set free from the curse of our sin. God, the Son, Jesus Christ, died as a propitiation for our sin in order to appease God, the Father's, holy and just character, redeem us from sin, and reconcile those who believe in this gospel to God, the Father. 2) I am primarily writing to those who already believe in this biblical gospel. In other words, this blog is not focused on evangelizing the lost, but edifying believers. 3) I believe that the Christian Bible is the very word of God. Therefore, it is completely inerrant, infallible, sufficient, and authoritative in the life of a believer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

