“The Longing”

So there I was this afternoon, stuck in rush-hour traffic on the 101 Freeway commuting home from another fun-filled trip to the LA Zoo with my precious son; but my heart was before the throne of grace worshiping our risen Savior, largely due in part to the amazing lyrics of the following song, which I had blaring from my speakers set on the “reapeat” mode as I drove:

“Lord, let me long for that heavenly shore,

though wonders fill this world there awaits much more;

Oh, Lord, let it seem closer than a distant dream,

and make my heart pine for that fair land like n’er before.

God, grant me faith to trust Your perfect plan,

Till You finally complete in me the work that You began;

Oh, God, guide my feet till I walk on golden streets,

On this narrow path ahead that leads me to Your Promise Land.

Father, fix my eyes to see beyond my home,

For my fortune and my comfort weigh me down like heavy stones;

Oh, Father, strip from me all but breath and love for Thee,

So all that is within me will depend on You alone.

Jesus, join Your church both in spirit and in mind,

Let her always bring You joy as Your pure and faithful bride;

Oh, Jesus, may You be Savior, Lord, and coming King,

In our lives as we share Your glorious Gospel to mankind.”

Praise the Lord for giving musicians the ability to compose such Bible-fed lyrics, put them to melody, and aid our hearts in the worship of our great God!

(For a sample of this song, google “The Longing” by Enfield.)

About Elizabeth

I am a sinner, saved by grace striving to increase in the knowledge of my Savior and His precious Word each day. The reader should know that there are a few presuppositions with which I approach this blog: 1) I believe in the biblical gospel, which basically purports that all mankind is born under the curse of sin (due to the sin of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden). Therefore, man is separated from God and can have no relationship with God because He is perfectly holy, not even able to look upon sin. Unfortunately, God is also perfectly just and must not only separate Himself from sin, but must also punish it. In order to reconcile man to Himself, God, the Father, sent God, the Son, down to earth to live as a man and take our sins upon Himself on the cross. While on the cross, God, the Son, bore the full weight of the wrath of God, the Father, against our sins in order that we who believe in Him might be set free from the curse of our sin. God, the Son, Jesus Christ, died as a propitiation for our sin in order to appease God, the Father's, holy and just character, redeem us from sin, and reconcile those who believe in this gospel to God, the Father. 2) I am primarily writing to those who already believe in this biblical gospel. In other words, this blog is not focused on evangelizing the lost, but edifying believers. 3) I believe that the Christian Bible is the very word of God. Therefore, it is completely inerrant, infallible, sufficient, and authoritative in the life of a believer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Longing”

  1. Geoff says:

    Great post. I love that song and those lyrics by Enfield are great. :=)

Leave a Reply

