New York Cheesecake

My husband’s birthday is tomorrow (Jan. 7th), but a few friends & I surprised him early with a party today. In honor of his celebration, I made him his favorite kind of birthday cake … a cheesecake!

It was only my second attempt at making a cheesecake, but I found this really great recipe that I thought I would share:

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (+ 3 tablespoons)

1/3 cup white sugar

1 egg (beaten)

1/2 cup butter (softened)

2 1/2 pounds cream cheese (softened)

1 3/4 cups white sugar

5 eggs

2 egg yolks

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup sour cream

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Lightly coat a 20 inch springform pan with spray oil. (NOTE: You can use a 9″ x 13″ pan instead.

2. To make the crust: Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 1/3 cup sugar, 1 egg and 1/2 cup butter or margarine. Spread to the edges of the pan. Prick all over with a fork. Bake 15 minutes at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Remove from oven and allow to cool. Increase oven temperature to 475 degrees F (245 degrees C).

3. In the meantime, combine 2 1/2 pounds of cream cheese, 1 3/4 cups sugar, 3 tablespoons flour, 5 eggs and the yolks in a large bowl and mix thoroughly. Add 1/4 cup cream and 1/4 cup sour cream and mix only enough to blend.

4. Pour filling over crust and bake for 10 minutes at 475 degrees F (245 degrees C). Reduce temperature to 200 degrees F (95 degrees C) and continue to bake for one hour. Turn oven off, but leave cake in for another hour. Don’t worry if it looks jiggly in the center.

5. Chill overnight. This is imperative! After chilled, freezing cheesecake is possible for up to one month as well. Simply remove cake from the freezer to thaw in the refrigerator the night prior to serving. If desired, top with your favorite fruit or serve plain.

Servings per recipe: 16

Happy Baking!!!

About Elizabeth

I am a sinner, saved by grace striving to increase in the knowledge of my Savior and His precious Word each day. The reader should know that there are a few presuppositions with which I approach this blog: 1) I believe in the biblical gospel, which basically purports that all mankind is born under the curse of sin (due to the sin of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden). Therefore, man is separated from God and can have no relationship with God because He is perfectly holy, not even able to look upon sin. Unfortunately, God is also perfectly just and must not only separate Himself from sin, but must also punish it. In order to reconcile man to Himself, God, the Father, sent God, the Son, down to earth to live as a man and take our sins upon Himself on the cross. While on the cross, God, the Son, bore the full weight of the wrath of God, the Father, against our sins in order that we who believe in Him might be set free from the curse of our sin. God, the Son, Jesus Christ, died as a propitiation for our sin in order to appease God, the Father's, holy and just character, redeem us from sin, and reconcile those who believe in this gospel to God, the Father. 2) I am primarily writing to those who already believe in this biblical gospel. In other words, this blog is not focused on evangelizing the lost, but edifying believers. 3) I believe that the Christian Bible is the very word of God. Therefore, it is completely inerrant, infallible, sufficient, and authoritative in the life of a believer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New York Cheesecake

  1. Mom says:

    Hi, sweetie! I copied and pasted the recipe and emailed to all your siblings. The surprise party was a lot of fun. I always enjoy re-seeing the people in your and Geoff’s life that I’ve previously met. And, of course, the cheesecake was awesome.

  2. Keara says:

    Hey! I am SO glad that you posted this recipe! I was afriad you were going to think I was insincere because I keep telling you the food you make is so good, but I really mean it!!! Anyways, I didn’t want to ask you for the recipe, but I really wanted it, so I’m glad you posted it. I’ll be using it soon – cheescake is Dave’s fav too. Have a blessed day.

  3. St. Louis Mom says:

    Sounds totally delicious! Mail me a piece, ok? : )
    All I can say is, Look out, Cheesecake Factory!! : )

  4. Geoff says:

    WOOO HOOO for New York Cheesecake :=)

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Hey Momma,

    Thanks for taking the time to pass this recipe along to the siblings. We love the idea of the Family Cookbook that you have started and trust that it will be an heirloom that will be passed down (and hopefully added to) for generations to come!

    Love Ya,

    Elizabeth

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Keara,

    You are so sweet! It was great having you & your hubby at the party on Sunday. I know Geoff was surprised and delighted that you were both able to make it!

    As for the cheesecake, now that I know Dave likes it too, I will have to make some the next time we all have dinner together … and of course we will have to bring the Dutch Blitz cards so that we can continue our intense competition over dessert & coffee ;-).

    Love Ya,

    Elizabeth

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Dear St. Louis Mom,

    Well … as good as it may be, unfortunately, the recipe is still not up to par with Cheesecake Factory. If only I could figure out a way to get all of their gooey, carmely, chocolatey, fruity, goodness into my cheesecake like they do, then it might be comprable 😉 Until then, you will just have to keep blessing us with those lovely CF gift cards (lol).

    Much Love,

    Elizabeth

  8. Elizabeth says:

    Honey,

    I am so glad that you enjoyed it! HAPPY BIRTHDAY … again 🙂

    Love Ya,

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

