The month of November …

During the entire month of November my social life came to a screeching hault (along with many other things) because I had to crank-out 100 pages of research material in less than five weeks.

This was my life for the entire month of November!

It was a whirl-wind experience, and I would not necessarily recommend pursuing a thesis in the same manner, but I really did enjoy it and it is my continued prayer that the Lord would be glorified and honored with the end-result!

However, I did not do this alone! I could not have done it without the Lord’s enabling and the help of my amazing husband, prayerful family and supportive friends šŸ™‚ . I would like to publicly thank each one of you for your role and participation in the process … it has been a journey in some way for all of us!

The journey is still not over, as the editing process will be underway next month. But, the Lord has graciously provided a brief season of rest until then.

Also, in the midst of the writing process, He also allowed a ministry opportunity with some of the girls in our Youth Group. We have formed a club, called “Daddy’s Girls” (Jn 1:12), and we gather together about once everyother month for a time of fellowship, encouragement and instruction. The most recent meeting took place on November 24th in our Church Youth Group Room. I taught on “Purity in Dating” and it provided a great break about half-way through the writing process. I have included some pictures below:

One of our older college-aged, Youth Group girls volunteered to help with this event. She played a fun “Dating Game” with the younger Youth Group girls to really get them thinking about the types of qualities and characteristics they tend to find attractive in the opposite sex:

Liz plays ā€œDating Gameā€ with girls

Craft Time!!! One of the younger Youth Group girls volunteered to lead the craft activity. Each of the girls were able to make their own “button bracelets” to take home as a memento of the day:

Buttons, buttons and moreĀ buttons!

Then, came the time of instruction (Gen 1:26-31, 2:15-25; Eph 5:22-33; Col 3:18-19; 1 Cor 7; Matt 19:3-12 )

Elizabeth teaches on biblical perspective of dating &Ā marriage

It was such a blessing to spend an afternoon (away from the computer šŸ™‚ with the girls … oftentimes, I think they bless me more than I ever could them! But the Lord was good to not only allow me to work on the thesis, but to carry me through the process and even provide a break in the midst of it … He is so good!

(Addendum: My thesis is titled, “Ministering Christ to Cutters”. I will be posting my thesis on this blog after the editing process is complete with the prayer that the Lord might be pleased to use it as a ministry tool for fellow biblical counselors, working with those who are tempted to cut themselves.)

About Elizabeth

I am a sinner, saved by grace striving to increase in the knowledge of my Savior and His precious Word each day. The reader should know that there are a few presuppositions with which I approach this blog: 1) I believe in the biblical gospel, which basically purports that all mankind is born under the curse of sin (due to the sin of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden). Therefore, man is separated from God and can have no relationship with God because He is perfectly holy, not even able to look upon sin. Unfortunately, God is also perfectly just and must not only separate Himself from sin, but must also punish it. In order to reconcile man to Himself, God, the Father, sent God, the Son, down to earth to live as a man and take our sins upon Himself on the cross. While on the cross, God, the Son, bore the full weight of the wrath of God, the Father, against our sins in order that we who believe in Him might be set free from the curse of our sin. God, the Son, Jesus Christ, died as a propitiation for our sin in order to appease God, the Father's, holy and just character, redeem us from sin, and reconcile those who believe in this gospel to God, the Father. 2) I am primarily writing to those who already believe in this biblical gospel. In other words, this blog is not focused on evangelizing the lost, but edifying believers. 3) I believe that the Christian Bible is the very word of God. Therefore, it is completely inerrant, infallible, sufficient, and authoritative in the life of a believer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

