Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also… (Part 2)

To further illustrate my point, I thought I would share a brief testimony of a day when the Lord really allowed this study to hit home for me:

It is a rare blessing when I can spend any significant length of time at home. One of my favorite things to do when I am home is to clean and make my home attractive, comfortable and welcoming for my husband and our guests.

Well, one morning, my husband had left early for Seminary classes, so I had the apartment to myself. I decided I would skimp on my daily, routine walk around the neighborhood in order to get the most of my time at home… alone. Giddy, I set about doing all the things that I had been meaning to do, but hadn’t gotten around to doing yet: I swept the patio, filled the bird-feeder, scrubbed the kitchen counters, dusted, vacuumed, and on-&-on I went until I noticed the time. With only a half hour left before I had to be at the office, I took five minutes and just sat down on my couch, savored my last few sips of coffee, and just enjoyed gazing over all the hard work I had just done (prideful, I know 🙂 ).

Then, I raced to shower, dress, do hair & make-up, and dash out the door just in time for work. As I was pulling out of our parking gate, I fixed my gaze in the rear-view mirror to try to see if there were any birds enjoying our newly replenished bird-feeder. Staring unsuccessfully the whole way, I finally gave-up at the end of our street and tried to remember which direction I needed to turn at the stop-sign.

Then, it hit me… I was being just like Lot’s wife! My heart had become so attached to what was behind me (my “home” and material possessions) that I wasn’t even focused on where I was going. It is so easy for me to loose focus in this life!

That’s why it is such a great thing that God doesn’t leave it all up to me. He has graciously given me (and every other believer) the Holy Spirit to dwell inside of me. As He dwells within me (and every other believer), He has many jobs: He teaches me about God through the study of His Word; leads me to praise & worship God; He helps my prayers conform to the will of God; He convicts me when I sin (which is a lot J ); He compels me to confess my sin before the Lord and seek restoration of the relationship; and He empowers me to forsake my sin and follow Christ.

If left to myself, this would never happen. But, God knew that. So He, being rich in mercy, with the great love with which He loved me; predestined me; ordained His Son to die for my sins to cleanse me from all unrighteousness; and gave me His Spirit so that I might obey Him… and in doing so, He allows me to bring glory and honor to Him! What a deal!

How about you? Where is your treasure? Is it in obeying God’s commands and seeking Him “with all your heart, soul, mind & strength”? Or does something else seem more precious to you? Do you really “seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness”? Or is there something else that you seek before that? Do you find yourself “looking back” in life? Or are you fully submitting to where the Lord is leading you in this life? Is there something that grips your heart more than God?

If you are like me, perhaps the Lord has used the study of Lot’s wife to convict you. Perhaps He has revealed treasures in your heart that are taking precedence in your life, over Him. If so, then I have great news for you! God has revealed some clear and simple instruction in His Word to help you fix that problem: (1) acknowledge your sin; (2) confess it before Him; (3) ask for forgiveness from your sin; and (4) ask for God’s grace to help you repent from it. If you do that, then God promises that He will forgive you & cleanse you from all unrighteousness (1 John 1:9).

However, if you have not been convicted, then GREAT! I would just encourage you to at least pray about it though and ask the Lord to reveal anything in your heart that you prefer above him. I am sure that He will answer your prayer one way or another 😉 .

 

About Elizabeth

I am a sinner, saved by grace striving to increase in the knowledge of my Savior and His precious Word each day. The reader should know that there are a few presuppositions with which I approach this blog: 1) I believe in the biblical gospel, which basically purports that all mankind is born under the curse of sin (due to the sin of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden). Therefore, man is separated from God and can have no relationship with God because He is perfectly holy, not even able to look upon sin. Unfortunately, God is also perfectly just and must not only separate Himself from sin, but must also punish it. In order to reconcile man to Himself, God, the Father, sent God, the Son, down to earth to live as a man and take our sins upon Himself on the cross. While on the cross, God, the Son, bore the full weight of the wrath of God, the Father, against our sins in order that we who believe in Him might be set free from the curse of our sin. God, the Son, Jesus Christ, died as a propitiation for our sin in order to appease God, the Father's, holy and just character, redeem us from sin, and reconcile those who believe in this gospel to God, the Father. 2) I am primarily writing to those who already believe in this biblical gospel. In other words, this blog is not focused on evangelizing the lost, but edifying believers. 3) I believe that the Christian Bible is the very word of God. Therefore, it is completely inerrant, infallible, sufficient, and authoritative in the life of a believer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

